In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Guidelines Publication Schedule

Clinical Practice Guidelines and scientific statements of the ESC are prepared by a task force of cardiologists, an ad hoc group commissioned by the ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee and approved by the ESC Board. 

The guidelines are published on a regular basis in the European Heart Journal.

Guidelines planned for 2025

  • Cardiovascular disease during pregnancy (Guidelines)
    Chairpersons: Julie De Backer and Kristina Hermann Haugaa
  • Cardiovascular disease and mental health (Consensus Statement)
    Chairpersons: Hector Bueno and Christi Deaton
  • Myocarditis and pericarditis (Guidelines)
    Chairpersons: Massimo Imazio and Jeanette Schulz-Menger
  • Valvular heart disease (Joint Guidelines with EACTS)
    Chairpersons: Fabien Praz and Michael A. Borger

Guidelines planned for 2024

  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Isabelle C. Van Gelder and Dipak Kotecha 
  • Arterial hypertension
    Chairpersons: John William McEvoy and Rhian Touyz
  • Chronic coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Felicita Andreotti and Christiaan Vrints
  • Peripheral arterial and aortic diseases
    Chairpersons: Lucia Mazzolai and José Rodriguez Palomares

Guidelines published in  2023

  • Acute coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Robert Byrne and Borja Ibanez
  • Cardiomyopathies
    Chairpersons: Elena Arbelo and Juan Pablo Kaski
  • Cardiovascular disease and diabetes
    Chairpersons: Nikolaus Marx and Massimo Federici
  • Endocarditis
    Chairpersons: Victoria Delgado and Michael Borger
  • Focused update of the 2021 heart failure guidelines
    Chairpersons: Theresa McDonagh and Marco Metra

Guidelines published in 2022

  • Ventricular arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death
    Chairpersons: Katja Zeppenfeld and Jacob Tfelt-Hansen
  • Cardiovascular assessment and management of patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery
    Chairpersons: Sigrun Halvorsen and Julinda Mehilli
  • Cardio-oncology
    Chairpersons: Alexander Lyon and Teresa Lopez-Fernandez
  • Pulmonary hypertension
    Chairpersons: Stephan Rosenkranz and Marion Delcroix

Guidelines published in 2021

  • Cardiac pacing
    Chairpersons: Jens Cosedis Nielsen and Michael Glikson
  • Valvular heart disease
    Chairpersons: Alec Vahanian and Friedhelm Beyersdorf
  • CVD prevention
    Chairpersons: Francois Mach and Frank Visseren
  • Heart failure
    Chairpersons: Theresa McDonagh and Marco Metra

Guidelines published in 2020

  • Non-ST segment elevation acute coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Jean-Philippe Collet and Holger Thiele
  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Tatiana Potpara and Gerhard Hindricks
  • Adult congenital heart disease (previously grown-up congenital heart disease)
    Chairpersons: Helmut Baumgartner and Julie De Backer
  • Sports cardiology and physical activity in patients with cardiovascular disease
    Chairpersons: Antonio Pelliccia and Sanjay Sharma

Guidelines published in 2019

  • Diabetes, pre-diabetes and cardiovascular disease
    Chairpersons: Francesco Consentino and Peter Grant
  • Acute pulmonary embolism
    Chairpersons: Stavros Konstantinides and Guy Meyer
  • Supraventricular tachycardia
    Chairpersons: Josep Brugada and Demosthenes Katritsis
  • Chronic coronary syndromes (previously Stable Coronary Artery Disease)
    Chairpersons: William Wijns and Juhani Knuuti
  • Dyslipidaemias
    Chairpersons: Colin Baigent, Francois Mach and Alberico Catapano

Guidelines published in 2018

  • Syncope
    Chairpersons: Michele Brignole and Angel Moya
  • Fourth universal definition of MI and myocardial Injury
    Chairpersons: Kristian Thygesen, Joseph Alpert and Harvey White
  • Myocardial revascularization
    Chairpersons: Franz Joseph Neumann and Miguel Sousa Uva
  • CVD during pregnancy
    Chairpersons: Vera Regitz-Zagrosek and Jolien Roos-Hesselink
  • Arterial hypertension
    Chairpersons: Bryan Williams and Giuseppe Mancia

Guidelines published in 2017

    Chairpersons: Stefan James and Borja Ibanez
  • Focused update on dual anti-platelet therapy
    Chairperson: Marco Valgimigli
  • Peripheral arterial disease
    Chairpersons: Victor Aboyans and Jean-Baptiste Ricco
  • Valvular heart disease
    Chairpersons: Helmut Baumgartner and Volkmar Falk

Guidelines published in 2016

  • Cardio-oncology (Position Paper)
    Chairpersons: Jose Luis Zamorano and Patrizio Lancellotti
  • CVD prevention
    Chairpersons: Massimo Piepoli and Arno W. Hoes
  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Paulus Kirchhof and Stefano Benussi
  • Heart failure
    Chairpersons: Piotr Ponikowski and Adriaan Voors